Posted by: Shireen | November 16, 2013

R-E-A-D

Little Bee is learning to read. This is a big deal for me.

We take it for granted that our kids will learn to read when they are “bigger”. Well, I guess this means Little Bee is big. She can look at a word, sound out the letters and bam! – there is the word! Amazing!

Learning to read is like crossing a border into a new, wild and magical country. The whole world has opened up at the feet of my Little Bee. Soon she will be able to read anything her heart desires. Comics and novels, road signs and tube stops, letters and emails….the list is endless. And to think of all the pleasure reading will bring her, I am just tingling with excitement for her.

Tonight we read her reading book in bed. When she finished, I gave her a big mama hug.
“Little Bee,” I said. “You can read! You worked so hard to sound out the letters and read the words. I am so proud of you! How does it feel to be able to read now?”
She had a huge smile all over her face.
“Can you see my face, Mummy? That is how good I feel! Happy explosions!”

These are the moments that stick forever in my heart. The day my little girl realised she could read and the words welcomed her in over the threshold.

Responses

  1. Amazing! I’m so proud of our big girl 🙂 and her mamma too!!

  2. I am so proud of her mummy and daddy!

  3. 🙂

  4. Shireen – You write so well – this will be such a treasure for your kids when they grow up. How exiting that Mira can read now..such an intelligent little girl

    B

  5. Thank you, B. Thanks for always reading my words – means a lot x


Leave a Reply

Categories

