Posted by: Shireen | March 27, 2011

Bee’s Beautiful Books – The Dot by Peter H. Reynolds

The Dot by Peter H. Reynolds

This wonderful story means a lot to me.

As a teacher, I get to meet lots of different kinds of students.  Some are so bold and confident which really inspires me…where do we lose that when we get older, I wonder?  But some are shy and timid and have gone through their young lives so far without anyone ever telling them that they are fabulous and wonderful.  This makes me sad.  So while I have these kids in my class for a year, I try to make it my plan to show them that at least in my eyes, they can achieve anything.  And this is one of the stories that I use to help them see that if they want to do something, they can do it.

The story is about Vashti, who thinks that she cannot draw or paint.  Her teacher knows that Vashti can do it, but we all know that it is Vashti who has to believe in herself.  When her teacher makes a lovely big deal about her dot in the middle of the page by putting the artwork up on her wall of fame, Vashti begins to see that anything can be art as long as we appreciate it.  So begins her journey into appreciating herself and her art.

Reynold’s illustrations are gorgeous, simple and sensitive, expressing Vashti’s personality and the growth in her confidence.

Such a lovely little book that will always be on my bookshelf as a teacher and now a mother because I believe that a child has to feel like they can do anything and be anything and we, as the adults in their lives have to find as many ways as possible of expressing that to them.  But as adults we forget to celebrate our art and our passions too.  This story is for anyone who has forgotten that we all have talents to share.  All we have to do is take the first step.

P.S  This is the first of Bee’s Beautiful Books.  Each week, I will try to share one of my favourites with you.  Grab a tea and enjoy a good book!

Responses

  1. I will try and get this book so I can be on the same page as little bee and The Dot.

  2. I love reading with LLC and have a wish list of books that we need to read or at least borrow. This one is now on it. I look forward to more recommendations. If you would like one in return, try Sleep, Big Bear, Sleep! by Maureen Wright.

  3. We have checked out the DVD version of this book several times – it is one of Hannah’s favorite videos and she has drawn a number of Dot inspired art pieces as a result… yay watercolors! a great story, I agree!

  4. Oh! I always love book recommendations! Thanks…will check out Sleep, Big Bear, Sleep 🙂
    I am hoping to make the Beautiful Books a regular thing….if I can be that organised! So check back soon to see the next one.

  5. Oh wow! I didn’t know there was a DVD! And one day, I would love to see Hannah’s paintings….maybe one day before college, I hope! Let’s keep sharing fabulous books….I bet you guys have some great ones too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

