Posted by: Shireen | March 7, 2011

Shhhhh…..the baby is sleeping!

So…I know you want the story on how Little Bee got to
sleep, right?

Its only simple. I got to the breaking point.

F had been saying for a while that we should get a sleep nanny and have Little Bee sleep trained. He isn’t mean and he didn’t think that I was being a bad mum or couldn’t handle it. He just saw a very, very tired and run down mum who couldn’t think straight, was grumpy all the time and spent lots of time crying of complete exhaustion. He wanted to help. Being the stubborn girl that I am, I only would agree to think about sleep training when I was ready. I couldn’t listen to anyone before that
moment. I talked to all the mummies around me…they were probably sick of my obsession with not sleep training. But I have never had as much support as I did then. They all gave their little bits of advice and tips and most of all sympathy at the task we were about to take on.

But they promised a land filled with happy babies, calm bedtimes and sleeping through the
night. A land that we hadn’t even considered visiting until we realised that unless we went there, were doomed to lose our minds due to lack of sleep! But we didn’t even know how to get there, so bit by bit we gathered all the ideas from the millions of books we had read on baby sleep as well as advice from other mommies and made a plan for how our sleep training would go.  That was the key for us….we devised our own plan because we knew our child best.

This was not without a lot of tears and resistance from me and lots of loving encouragement from F, my own personal superhero.

In the end after lots of loving words and cuddles (ours) and a few tears (hers and mine) Little Bee learned to soothe herself to sleep and sleep all through the night. I do not kid. The child who used to wake up three to five times a night, now sleeps through the night. Most nights.  And it was not as traumatising as I thought it would be! Gasp!!!!!

I can hardly believe it, but we now have a happy bedtime, a happy baby and a happy mummy and daddy!  I am not going to say that I should have done it earlier because for the Bee family, this was the right time, but I will say that this has changed my experience of parenting in a major way.  I am now so much better at being a mummy/wife/friend/human now that I get to sleep at night time.

The world is so much prettier when you’ve had some sleep!  And if it is affecting me this much, imagine how much the proper sleep is benefitting Little Bee!

The sun is shining and Spring is on its way……..and I really feel like that now.

p.s. Thank you to my amazing mummy friends and cousins and my mum for all the on-line and phone support !!  You saved my basket case brain!

Responses

  1. How old is your little one? I haven’t slept in months 🙂

    http://thegnomesmom.com/

  2. hi there! Little Bee is 18.5 months old….and I hadn’t slept for about 16.5 months when we decided we need to help her soothe herself to sleep (but it was a long and rocky road getting to the point where we just had to make the decision) the actual doing it didn’t end up being that bad after all! How old is your little one? I really hope you get a night sleep soon! Thanks for stopping by x

  3. Excellent News!!!!

  4. you two did it even though you gave us all a bent ear, 2 actually. The Little Sunshine needed her Mummy’s and Daddy’s help to do it and you as the great parents you are made it happen. Well done, just for today, life is good and i am glad that you’re enjoying your beauty sleep!! Pass the eyelash curler.
    Mumsy

  5. The Gnome is only 5 months old. I don’t know when I will even consider some form of sleep training so for now it’s bed sharing with a restless baby 🙂 I think I would probably break before 18.5 months but really, I didn’t think I could go 5 with no sleep.

    But I’m glad you’re getting some sleep! And glad you waited until you were all ready!


Leave a Reply

Categories

