Posted by: Shireen | January 22, 2011

Saturday night.

Social life changes so much after having a baby.  I used to feel so much freedom to do whatever I wanted.   If I wanted to meet a friend for breakfast, go to a museum for lunch, meet F for dinner and then go out dancing, I could do it.

After baby – life is different.

It took me a while to get used to this new “social life” where everything has to be organised and timed according to when we have to get home to relieve the babysitter.  I miss the flexibility and the spontaneity.

But today, I had a lovely day and a lovely moment of realisation.

We had some dear friends over for lunch.  We had a wonderful afternoon and by the end the Bee-Laljis were quite pooped, especially the little one!  None of the friends we had over have children yet, so of course for them the day was not over.  Especially since they hadn’t been up with a Little Bee at 7am on a Saturday morning.  Two of our friends went home to finish off the evening with a date.  Two others planned to continue the evening at a bar in East London.  Very cool!

For a millisecond, as I listen I felt a little down as I thought of the dinner-bath-milk-story-bed routine that is my life at the moment and wished that I was making plans to go out too.  But really, folks, it was a millisecond.  I realised that even though I’d had an awesome afternoon with my friends, I was absolutely okay and happy, even, that after all the excitement of the day, I would have my little family to myself for the evening.

I love the softness of the evenings with Little Bee and F.  The routine helps us all wind down and it is what I always look forward too.  All three of us hanging out, reading favourite stories and having a cuddle.  Its the time when Little Bee is the absolute center of our attention away from the distractions of the day.

It might not sound like the coolest thing to do on a Saturday night and two years ago you never would have caught me saying such a thing, but I do love it!  I am not saying that I don’t love a night out.  I am just saying that a night in with the Bee-Laljis is on the top of my list of things that make me happy.

 

Responses

  1. As I read your post, I’m sitting here in the living room with the snow falling outside. The boys are in the basement watching hockey and the girls are upstairs watching the Cinderella DVD. And although the snow would keep us home even if there was somewhere we wanted to be; there isn’t anywhere else we want to be.

    There’s no way your priorities can’t change when you have kids, but at the same time it’s about learning to appreciate (and even enjoy) what your “new” life brings with it. Put on your comfy pants, find something good on TV and curl up with your family…and enjoy! And keep the writing coming…I love to read it!

  2. Love our evenings too. Great post.

  3. Trisha….love your comment. You should write a blog! What a perfect description of your family on a snowy Saturday night! I love that you can have a boys night and a girls night all in the same house 😉 I never thought I would love “nights in” so much.

  4. It is great that you can be in the moment, neither wishing for the past or the future, nor justifying your status. it’s what makes the big Lalji-Bee such a great team. You are both excellent parents.
    keep up the good work, and you will have a night off really soon, my lovely dears.


Leave a Reply

Categories

