Posted by: Shireen | January 15, 2011

Outside myself.

A friend on Facebook had a quote from Plato as his status and it really struck a chord with me.
“Be kind; everyone you meet has had a hard battle.”  Plato
You know, for the past two-ish years, I have pretty much been focused on me, my body, my baby and my family. I am not going to lie. It hasn’t really been a choice. Even if I had wanted to pay attention to anything else… learning to be a mommy has been all consuming. There has been no time for anyone except my child. I am not apologising for it….it is the way it is when you have a tiny being so dependent on you. But, I have been lucky to have friends who understood when I couldn’t be there as much as I used to.
Sometimes I have been so caught up in my world, that I have forgotten to look around and see other people’s stories. Sometimes I have even been annoyed that they weren’t there for me as I expected them to be.
But reading that quote reminded me that just as I need people to cut me some slack when I can’t be around as much as I used to, or call as much as I did, or be as supportive in the same ways as I used to, or remember birthdays (okay, I was always bad at that one!), I also need to remember that I am not the only one who has things in her life that consume her. Everyone is in their own little bubble of life experience, just trying to get by too.
This year, I am going to try and keep that compassionate thought in the front of my mind.

Responses

  1. another good one for me is be kind to yourself and ready to forgive yourself and then others.
    loveyou


Leave a Reply

Categories

