Posted by: Shireen | December 15, 2010

Sick Day

I tried to write some words of reflection about the past year, like I have been doing for the past 10 days or so with Reverb10, but it was all coming out a little bit dull today, so here for your viewing pleasure are some pictures of Little Bee and her tent.  She had a cold so we couldn’t do any baby groups or hang out with any of our little friends last week, so I tried to think of some fun things we could do while we were cooped inside our little London flat.

Don’t you remember how much fun it was to build tents? When I was little, we used to have a room in our house that we used only for storage, but it was also the home of our dress up box and lots of old sheets and boxes to build tents, forts and rocket ships with. I loved that room.  We called it the Big Lounge.  We used the little lounge as a family room because it was just off from the kitchen, but the Big Lounge was all ours, since no-one really used it.

On some days my brother and I would build a tent or a ship or something and then spend the rest of the day in there, coming out only to eat lunch.  Some days we used the dress up box to create plays and dances for our parents who were expected to sit and watch the performances without a smile on their faces.  If they smiled, I would think that they were laughing and not taking the show seriously!!

I just can’t wait until Little Bee puts on shows for us.  I guess I will have to practice my serious audience face.

Who needs Dora the Explorer when you can build a tie dye tent?

Tents are perfect for making you feel warm and cosy on cold winter days when you can’t go out because you are sick!  I think tents should be mandatory sick day rituals for adults too 😉

And then we did some finger painting.  Here is Little Bee’s first ever painting.  We are so proud!

See you tomorrow, dear reader xoxo

Responses

  1. awesome artwork, little Bee!

  2. she’s already an artist!!

  3. quite the little Picasso, what a great little mummy you are


Leave a Reply

Categories

