Posted by: Shireen | August 5, 2010

It makes me want to say Grrr!

I just want to start by saying that not all days are like this one, but once in a while you have one that makes you want to scream 😉

Let me just say that before having a baby, I was never one of those put-together-sort of girls anyway, but I had figured out a system that worked pretty well for me.  After baby, well that just about fell apart!  Organisation flew out the window!

Most of the time, I feel like I have forgotten to put on one piece of my clothing, forgotten to bring extra diapers/food/clothes/baby wipes for Baby Bee, forgotten the formula, phone, keys, or (plug in any very useful object that most people remember to bring with them when leaving the house).  I put my make up on in a rush while  trying to entertain the baby so that she doesn’t eat my BlackBerry/the tv converter/the iPod or the cordless phone.  As an aside, why is it that they always want the technology?

If I am not trying to get out of the house in one piece, I am forever trying to climb Mount Laundry, as a friend once called it, or swim above the pile of dishes in the sink.  We have a cleaner who comes once a week and a dishwasher, so why am I always surrounded by house work?

When I am out for lunch with friends, BB always chooses that particular time to have a melt down, have a teething attack or refuse to eat or drink whatever I have brought her.  Not always, but sometimes.  Of course when we get home, she is my perfect little angel again.  Grr.

After bath and bed when I am just about spent, we pick up all the toys, make an attempt at dinner and dinner conversation and flop in front of the tv.  When I was teaching, I used to be so exhausted at the end of the day, but it is nothing compared to how I feel now, I can tell you that.

There are so many things on my things-to-do list that I don’t even want to look at it in case the list is taller than me now!

Today was just one of those days, that make you want to growl like a bear.  BB was so grumpy today and I just could not get her out of it, that when F came back from work, I just about burst into tears from tiredness.  He did a good job of staying calm, having come home to a very emotionally unstable wife on the verge of eating an entire pot of ice cream out of frustration, I have to say.

Then BB did something very sweet.  She lifted herself up on to my knees, looked right up into my face and gave me the most gorgeous toothy grin.

And yes, it made everything alright in the end.  The dishes can wait, can’t they?

Responses

  1. Of course the dishes can wait 🙂
    great post!

  2. I’ve decided that anyone who says they have it all together as a new mother is lying. It’s far better to embrace the chaos and imperfection of this consuming and glorious occupation. Wonderful post on the reality of motherhood!

  3. Totally agree! I am on the journey toward embracing it all with all the ups and downs!

  4. Thanks, Alisha! Hug.

  5. I agree with everything you said in this post 100%! I haven’t stopped by for awhile but I like your style Shireen.

  6. tanya! so great to hear from you. i dropped of the face of the earth for a few months, but now that the evenings are getting chilly, i am going to warm myself up with all the blog reading and posting that i have neglected…..see you/read you soon! oxox


Leave a Reply

Categories

