Posted by: Shireen | April 11, 2010

Sunday Scribblings #209 – Mentors

Who is my mentor?

This is a question that F and I have been talking about for a long time.  I think a mentor needs to be a person who is just like you but has more life experience and is more established in the professional field.  A mentor should be inspirational – he or she should be doing great things and encourage you to do the same.  Most importantly, a mentor is a person that you could share your ideas with and they would help you realise them.  Someone who you admire and respect and who has done “it” the way you aspire to.

Great, right?  Except, I don’t have one!!  Who do I want to be like?  Who can help me figure out what I should do next in my career?

How do I find one? If they are good and dedicated to the job, teachers are so busy and lead such hectic lifestyles that the good ones usually are buried in their work and don’t surface very often, so it is hard to make them my mentor.  There are lots like this at my old school, but they are so busy, I don’t want to bother them with my million questions!

How do the good teachers handle having babies, and maternity leave and wanting to be a fabulous teacher and still be a fabulous mum?  And how do those teachers keep current in the field while out on maternity leave?  How do they handle working part time when they are used to throwing themselves into the job full time?

What about my work related to Children’s Literature?  How do I use my MA?  How does that help or change things?

Are there any teachers out there who took time out to have babies and still went back into the classroom as driven as ever?  I want to meet them.  I want to find out how they did it!

I am on a search for a mentor who can help me fit it all together…..will keep you posted.

More at Sunday Scribblings

Responses

  1. Hello there!

    I have often wondered with awe at how the teachers that I work with handle having kids and still managing to do be brilliant at their job.

    At present I don’t know where I’d find time since as you point out, teaching is all-consuming. When I’ve asked them how they manage, the reply is always the same – you just have to.

    Wonderwomen, that’s what they are. 🙂

  2. thank you, pipster! you are right, there are teachers out there who still manage to be superstar teachers and mothers at the same time! i will try to join these wonderwomen soon 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

