Posted by: Shireen | February 18, 2010

Parenting Tips from Biggie…

Baby Bee and I like to have a little dance at the end of the day, just before the bath…today our choice of music was some nice R&B from about 1994…..

When I was 5 months pregnant, we went to Hip Hop karaoke with some favourite friends of ours.  Yes, you did read correctly, it was Hip Hop karaoke.  What we thought was going to be a bunch of people goofing around trying to re-live the 90s, was actually a group of rappers and singers who were obviously really serious about their Thursday night karaoke night.  We were definitely the only first time Hip Hop karaoke-ers in the very packed out bar.

To my huge surprise, F signed himself up to perform.  Talk about jumping in at the deep end! I really tried to talk him out of it, but he was determined.   He had never even rapped in front of me before…how was he going to do it in front of the entire crowd?  Well, he didn’t listen to me.  He had the song sheet to Juicy and he was up second and there was nothing I could do except watch as he possibly got squashed tomatoes thrown at his head as he attempted to sing a hip hop anthem.

So looking back at that incident, while cleaning up the kitchen, entertaining BB and preparing the night-time bottle, makes me think of what it feels like to become a parent.

No matter how many books you read or friends you talk to, you still feel totally unprepared.   And like Hip Hop karaoke, every parent you know just seems to be an expert, like they come every week and practice in the evenings and know just know just how to perform the perfect tune.  Even if you do sign up to sing, there is no way you are ever going to be as good as all those guys.  And as a parent, your baby arrives, just like your song words you have got to just jump in and give it a go.

The first time you might suck, and the second time too, but soon enough, you start to feel like you are getting better and better and eventually, you can sing the song without the words, just feeling the rhythm of the music and letting the words flow out.

So now, 6 months after meeting Baby Bee, I can say that for sure it gets easier and every day you learn something that helps you get better and better at the job of being a mum/dad.  And 6 months later, I can say that I feel much more comfortable being amongst the sea of parents who seem to be experts because I know now that they aren’t perfect, they just are trying to give it a good go.  And 6 months later, I am having fun with being a parent, and I am not so scared to step up on stage!

And you want to know if F was any good that day.  Well, you will just have to ask him.  One thing I will say is that I was amazed at his bravery….and he actually wasn’t bad at the rapping.  I, on the other hand will stick to singing Juicy in the kitchen to BB while washing bottles.

She appreciates my rapping skills.

Responses

  1. brilliant. xx

  2. I love your blogs, and think you are already that wonder woman you aspire to be, a great Mum and a great teacher. Love where you are and be in the here and now. loveyoulots


Leave a Reply

Categories

