Posted by: Shireen | November 12, 2008

A volcano that was worth it

Science is so fab.  We are almost finished creating our erupting volcanos.  We are going to make them errupt with baking soda and vinegar.  Yesterday the children built the shape of the volcano with crushed newspaper and this afternoon we covered them with papier mache.  Tomorrow we will paint them and varnish them.  It might seem like a small thing in the universe, but I could never describe to you the satisfaction on the children’s faces when they had finished the tiring and sticky job of papier mache-ing.  They looked at their newspaper mountains with such pride and excitement that it made me remember why I never want to give up being in the classroom and why I don’t want to become a deputy or head teacher of a school.  I would miss out on the volcanos, you see.

And by the way, after all the glue and newspaper everywhere, the kids did the best job cleaning up too!  Have I told you that I love my class yet? 😉

Responses

  1. Nice pic! Interesting depiction of bees on skis…Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.


Leave a Reply

Categories

