Posted by: Shireen | August 19, 2008

Plugs….

So we arrive on Friday afternoon and head to Rolle, where we are staying temporarily. LOVE the apartment here, but that is a whole other story for another day.

While F went to pick up the rental car in Lausanne, my job was a simple one; check out all the kitchen supplies the relocation company had left us and go grocery shopping. Simple, right.

First, I though a nice cup of herbal tea was in order. You would think this would be easy. It seems that Switzerland has a little bit of confusion when it comes to plugs. You see, the shape of the plug on the kettle was round with two prongs and the shape of the plug on the wall was the shape of an irregular pentagon (sorry, it’s the teacher in me) with two prongs. As hard as I tried I could not get the plug to fit and the kettle to work. Great start to the new life in La Suisse! I couldn’t even make myself a cup of tea! This thing better get sorted before I have issues with the blow dryer.

Fine, I thought. I’ll just go down to the shop and get something to eat for me and F. The grocery store was a bit of a nightmare. There are two basic grocery stores here; Migros and the Coop. Migros is Swiss and is owned by all the citizens of Switzerland, which is kind of cool, but it is no Waitrose. Not too much organic or wheat free fare here. In fact the place is stocked to the brim with pastries and croissants and brioche….a person could really fall off the gluten-free wagon here. But what I did find was many packets of brightly coloured marzipan fruit

….prizes for the best ways to use marzipan fruit…..

Responses

  1. Yikes! I remember the first time we moved to the UK and going grocery shopping! Even thought some of the name brands were the same, the majority of products were different and reading through nutritional values took forever! A normal 30 min shopping trip took about 3 hours!

    Marzipan Fruit in Chocolate…mmmmm….

    http://www.inmagine.com/wse057/wse057013-photo

    PS – The prize better not be ‘sponsored’ by nando’s! 😀

    Enjoy Swissland – have you guys had any cheese yet?


Leave a Reply

Categories

